A Full-Service Law Firm

Fighting For Your Rights

Hit and Run in Tennessee

On Behalf of | Apr 18, 2017 | Criminal Defense |

Hit and run accidents occur nationwide every year. Drivers can be sued in civil court for damages and injuries sustained during the accident. If a driver flees the scene, they can also be charged with a criminal offense. Continue reading to find out more about hit and run in Tennessee.

Criminal Charges


Property Damage Only. Failing to stop and stay at the scene is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 30 days in jail and/or a $50 fine. 


Injury or Death. If a driver leaves an accident involving injury or death the offense is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 11 months and 29 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,500.


Death-Felony. If a driver knew or should have known the accident resulted in death, the offense is a Class E felony, with a maximum of 6 years in jail and/or a fine of $3,000.




Metro Nashville Police has a dedicated Hit and Run Unit, with officers assigned to follow up on hit and run crashes in Davidson County. During these investigations vehicles may be impounded as evidence.



If you have been involved in a hit-and-run accident, make sure you are properly advised. Contact the experienced attorneys at Maniatis Law PLLC by calling our office to set up a consultation. For general information on criminal defense, click here.