A Full-Service Law Firm

Fighting For Your Rights

Trump’s Immigration Executive Order

On Behalf of | Jan 31, 2017 | Immigration |

What you need to know about Trump’s immigration Executive Order (EO) banning travel from seven predominantly-Muslim countries, and restricting admission of non-U.S. citizens.

Under Trump’s EO, refugee resettlement has been suspended for 120 days, and Syrian Refugee Resettlement has been suspended indefinitely. For a period of at least 90 days, any non-U.S. citizen from one of the below countries will be barred from entering the United States:

  1. Iran
  2. Iraq
  3. Libya
  4. Somalia
  5. Sudan
  6. Syria
  7. Yemen

Please note: This list may also expand to include more countries.

This ban applies to anyone from these countries, including immigrant and non-immigrant visa holders. Not only are those with students, tourist, or work visas affected, but also lawful permanent residents with valid green cards.

Update: The Department of Homeland Security announced that green card holders will not be affected by the EO moving forward.


Federal judges have blocked part of the EO, ruling that authorities could not deport individuals from these countries who had already arrived in U.S. airports after the order had been issued. However, the travel ban remains in effect for individuals not yet in the United States.


If you or someone you know is a citizen of one of the affected countries, and needs information on whether to travel to or from the United States, please seek legal advice from an attorney immediately. You can contact our Nashville office at our office or email us by clicking here. 

For more information about what to do during police or ICE encounters, following this link here